Review: Only For Him by Cristin Harber

Only For Him

by Cristin Harber51h-ib7fGWL
Published: February 24, 2015
Publisher: Mill Creek Press

Blurb:
Grayson Ford and Emma Kinglsey–close since they were kids, opposites in every way. He’s the stuff high school crushes are made of, Mister Popular, and captain of every team. She’s artsy, cute, and not in his league, though fully aware of Summerland’s “I Dream of Dating Grayson Ford” support group.

I can’t say no. The girl’s had my heart since before I knew it went missing.

He hides a life of hell. His father hates him, his mother’s gone. Emma is his only savior, yet she doesn’t know her power over him. She’s the only girl he wants, the only one he could ever tell–though he won’t.

I’m stronger, bigger, more of a man than he’ll ever be, but because I ruined his life, I’ve taken his crap, his attacks, the vulgar nature of his existence.

Until she discovers Gray’s embarrassment, his humiliation. Emma fights for him and for a chance. Theirs is a Cinderella story that she believes impossible. But as the layers peel back, it’s just a guy who needs a girl in order to keep breathing.

My mind is already doodling Mrs. Grayson Ford in imaginary notebooks. He has no clue where my head is at… But, given that I didn’t see what just happened coming, maybe I have no clue where his head is at either.
Read More »

ALLi Indie Author Fringe Event

As promised, I am going to give my views on the ALLi Author Fringe Event, events I participated in, and my personal thoughts on what I learned/didn’t learn.

**Usually I do not attend my husband’s band practices, using that time as personal me time that I never get, but yesterday I did (and got a really scary/good/confusing  offer), so I had to do the conference on Sunday (today). Makes it a little easier because I can scroll right past those events that do not interest me or pertain to me, such as non-fiction things.**
1-300x186
*photo owned by ALLi*

If you do not know, the ALLi Author Fringe Event is on online, 24-hour conference for writers by writers. It is free, for anyone. You just have to register. The em
ail you provide is necessary to giveaways. Usually it is held during the month of March. This event is held in person 3 times a year in April, May, and October (London, America, Frankfurt respectively).

A few guest speakers are Orna Ross (ALLi creator), Joanna Penn, KM Weiland, Adam Croft, and many many others. These are industry professionals who have been where you are, know what to look for, and are a huge help to any author/aspiring author out there.
Read More »

Here’s The Truth

If you have noticed at all, I haven’t really posted anything the past few weeks. I was feeling really exhausted and sick for a while there. And then I figured out why.

I had my second miscarriage since November. If you know me at all, my Lil Miss is my life. My absolute love. It almost killed me when I was trying to pregnant with her. I had a few miscarriages then. Now that we are trying for baby number 2, I honestly don’t want to go through that kind of turmoil again.

I am the type of person to love easily and to where my heart on my sleeve. These miscarriages have ripped me up from the inside out, plus, I’m having to hide what it’s doing to me so it doesn’t affect my husband and child. Lil Miss has been asking for a sibling for years and now I feel like a failure because I can’t give her the thing that only I can give her. Husband is understanding and is okay with how I feel.

But it still hurts. And I’m so disappointed in myself for not trying harder. But my mental health is important as well.

That driving need to take care of everyone and make sure that their happiness comes first is tearing me apart, though. I can’t do both, not in this situation.

I have 3 choices: keep trying and deal with it. Go to a doctor. Or give up.

And I am not a quitter. I hate that word.

I also hate myself a little for being scared of more miscarriages when there are others out there who can’t have any children either by injury or birth, disease or illness. My problems seem like small potatoes to those people, my heart cries for them. I was lucky enough to have Lil Miss and to see her everyday, to love her every moment. I am so grateful for her. I know I was lucky and am fortunate when there are others who can’t have the same experiences.

If you’ve made it this far, I’m sorry for the rambling. But I wanted to keep you in the loop and make sure you understood that I’m not slacking on purpose. I swear to it.

There will be reviews posted next week, and on Monday will be a special post on the ALLi Author Fringe Event that starts tomorrow morning at 10 am. If you don’t know this is a free, online writer’s conference that runs for a full 24 hours. No matter where you are in your writing/publishing journey there is something for you at this event. I did last year’s event and loved it. I even won a few of the giveaways. (Not sure if there will be any this year, but you should still do it.) Registration is free!!! So don’t miss out!

Review: Not Today

Damn, I got that song stuck in my head again.

Anyway…I will not be doing a book review today. I’ve just been too exhausted this pat week to do any reading. I haven’t really done much of anything besides sleeping and watching Lil Miss play.

I force myself to stay awake, check everything online, cook and clean. But I don’t really have much energy for much else.

So here we are…no book review. Hopefully, I’ll have a new review for next week. I just gotta get off my butt and back in working order.

 

You Are What You Become

Fear is a crippling thing. If you let it control you, you cannot do anything. It can be fear of judgement, fear of loss, fear of rejection…any kind of fear can break you down and stamp you out.

It’s why I haven’t been able to write a single sentence in a month, possibly longer. I haven’t even been keeping track. I’m afraid to see just how far I’ve fallen.

And what do I do when I fall under the pressure of fear? I find something to obsess over. A TV show, a book, a series. This time it was a KPop group. I like them so much I have story ideas. But I’m still too afraid to put words to paper.

It’s like a hundred pound weight falls on my shoulders every day I go without writing or editing. I don’t feel strong enough to pick myself off the ground and hold up all the weight.

On top of that, I’ve been sick the past several weeks. I can’t even tell if it’s real or just in my head. I’m so tired. So far past exhaustion that I’m just going with it now, not even fighting.

I feel like I’ve hit my stride, that I’m never going to go anywhere. This is my dead end.

I always felt like people who gave up, just didn’t have the will to keep going, they couldn’t see the end goal anymore. Now I know how those people feel/felt. I’m there, on the verge of giving up.youarewhatyoubecome

The walls are pushing in making me feel trapped in a tiny box of existence with no way out. My own limitations and pressures are sucking out all the air. Stresses and life are calling me a failure. And I’m screaming to get out. I’m on the edge of a tall building with nothing holding me up but the wind currents.

And one wrong move could be the last.

 

Is this self-fulfilling prophecy? Or just another trick of the shadows?

Review: Framed & Burning: Dreamslippers Boxed Set

A BOXED SET OF THE AWARD-WINNING NOVELS IN THE DREAMSLIPPERS SERIES + A BONUS STORY!

Dreamslippers Series Boxed Set
By Lisa Brunette
Genre: Mystery, Female Sleuths, Romantic Suspense

boxed-setSERIES OVERVIEW

What if you could ‘slip’ into the dreams of a killer? This family of PIs can. They use their psychic dream ability to solve crimes, and that isn’t easy. 

In Cat in the Flock…
Following a mother and girl on the run, apprentice dreamslipper Cat McCormick goes undercover inside a fundamentalist church. Is its enigmatic leader guilty of domestic violence? Did his right-hand man really commit suicide?

In Framed and Burning…
It was supposed to be a much-needed vacation in Miami, meant to snap Cat out of a persistent depression. But when her great uncle’s studio goes up in flames, killing his assistant, Cat must find out who’s really to blame.

In Bound to the Truth…
The dreamslippers don’t quite trust their client. Did Nina Howell really fall under the spell of a domineering, conservative talk show host—as her wife claims?

PLUS explore Amazing Grace’s back story in the bonus story found ONLY in this boxed set!

For readers who enjoy strong female leads, quirky, well-developed characters, and a dash of dating drama with their mystery. Fans of J.A. Jance, Mary Daheim, and Jayne Ann Krentz will love Cat and “Amazing” Grace!

Read More »

Review: Imperfect Chemistry by Mary Frame

Imperfect Chemistry

imperfectchemistrycoverBy Mary Jones
Publication Date: April 19, 2014
Genre: NA contemporary

Blurb:
Lucy London puts the word genius to shame. Having obtained her PhD in microbiology by the age of twenty, she’s amassed a wealth of knowledge, but one subject still eludes her—people. The pendulum of passions experienced by those around her confuses and intrigues her, so when she’s offered a grant to study emotion as a pathogen, she jumps on the opportunity.

Enter Jensen Walker, Lucy’s neighbor and the one person she finds appealing. Jensen’s life is the stuff of campus legend, messy, emotional, and complicated. Basically, the perfect starting point for Lucy’s study. When her tenaciousness wears him down and he consents to help her, sparks fly. To her surprise, Lucy finds herself battling with her own emotions, as foreign as they are intense. With the clock ticking on her deadline, Lucy must decide what’s more important: analyzing her passions…or giving in to them?

“Perfectly imperfect characters and situations make Frame’s debut novel sparkle…there’s a very real sense of character growth, brought to life by an evolving narrative style that parallels Lucy’s metamorphosis. The blend of humor and heart makes for a thoughtful, highly entertaining read.” –Publishers Weekly

This is the first book in the Imperfect series and it can be read as a stand alone. All books in this series feature different main characters in the same story world.

Read More »