Review: Only For Him by Cristin Harber

Only For Him

by Cristin Harber51h-ib7fGWL
Published: February 24, 2015
Publisher: Mill Creek Press

Blurb:
Grayson Ford and Emma Kinglsey–close since they were kids, opposites in every way. He’s the stuff high school crushes are made of, Mister Popular, and captain of every team. She’s artsy, cute, and not in his league, though fully aware of Summerland’s “I Dream of Dating Grayson Ford” support group.

I can’t say no. The girl’s had my heart since before I knew it went missing.

He hides a life of hell. His father hates him, his mother’s gone. Emma is his only savior, yet she doesn’t know her power over him. She’s the only girl he wants, the only one he could ever tell–though he won’t.

I’m stronger, bigger, more of a man than he’ll ever be, but because I ruined his life, I’ve taken his crap, his attacks, the vulgar nature of his existence.

Until she discovers Gray’s embarrassment, his humiliation. Emma fights for him and for a chance. Theirs is a Cinderella story that she believes impossible. But as the layers peel back, it’s just a guy who needs a girl in order to keep breathing.

My mind is already doodling Mrs. Grayson Ford in imaginary notebooks. He has no clue where my head is at… But, given that I didn’t see what just happened coming, maybe I have no clue where his head is at either.

My Review:
Once in a while I’ll go on a downloading spree and search for free books on Amazon and Google Play. That is how I found this novella. And usually I don’t like novellas, they’re never long enough.

But this one was on okay read for me. I just wanted a little something to distract me and Only For Him was perfect for that.

WARNING. This book does deal with some abuse, so if you don’t like that sort of thing or don’t handle it, do not read this book.

So, Only For Him is a romance between a girl and her brother’s best friend. (Why is that always a taboo thing? Is it really so bad to fall for your older siblings friends?) He feels like he isn’t good enough for her, and she feels like she isn’t good enough for him. Basically, the characters have put each other on a pedestal.

Through a few trials, exposure to who the male MC really is, and some difficult choices, the characters finally come together. And then they’re torn apart. Welcome to the final chapter and several years have passed.

Ignore the next little bit.

Now, if you know me at all you know that I form theories as I watch or read something. And I am so spot on every single time.
This is one of many instances. I’m not going to say the closer plot was predictable, because it wasn’t obvious AT ALL, I’m just weirdly, and sometimes frighteningly, observant to a point I see an end coming in a particular way.
So this book, even though it gave absolutely no clues, I still got the ending right. I think I even said called it when I got there.
I don’t know what that says about me or the book.
Wow, I got off on a tangent. Let’s try this again.

I downloaded this book simply for a little distraction. It is  a NOVELLA, which means it is short. It is your typical love story. The characters get knocked off their pedestals, thankfully, and learn to deal with what their lives have become.

The ending is definitely a cliffhanger. So if you want to see how the story ends, you have to get part 2, then 3, then 4. And I hate the covers for the rest of the series because- they spoil things! Just, no. Bad.

Anyway, I give this 3 stars. Only For Him served it’s purpose as a distraction, it fit into my ‘usual reads’ shelf very easily (but now that I am trying new things, my tastes are changing. This tends to happen at least once a year for me.).

It isn’t a bad story, it’s not a great story, but it fit the mold of several maps very easily and it had a nice little twist at the end that people tend to shy away from. That was handled very well. It opens a whole heck of a lot of questions and I am interested in seeing how the story continues.

***Back to my ‘not a great story’ comment. I am hoping that the entire series as a whole turns into a great story. This is one of the reasons I don’t typically read novellas. I just can’t form that great of an opinion of something. It was okay for what I got out of it, but I am hoping that the rest of the series gives me much, much more value.

There are some topics that seem taboo in today’s society, some of these topics are introduced near the end. I want to see how these situations are handled later in the series. Like I said before, I now have questions and I want my answers.

Eventually, when I can afford it, I will be able to get the rest of the novellas and finish off this series. I am definitely looking forward to doing a full series review.

Only For You is free across all buy links

Amazon
B&N
Kobo
Apple

For more on Cristin Harber and her other series go here.

Leave a Reply

