Review: Framed & Burning: Dreamslippers Boxed Set

A BOXED SET OF THE AWARD-WINNING NOVELS IN THE DREAMSLIPPERS SERIES + A BONUS STORY!

Dreamslippers Series Boxed Set
By Lisa Brunette
Genre: Mystery, Female Sleuths, Romantic Suspense

boxed-setSERIES OVERVIEW

What if you could ‘slip’ into the dreams of a killer? This family of PIs can. They use their psychic dream ability to solve crimes, and that isn’t easy. 

In Cat in the Flock…
Following a mother and girl on the run, apprentice dreamslipper Cat McCormick goes undercover inside a fundamentalist church. Is its enigmatic leader guilty of domestic violence? Did his right-hand man really commit suicide?

In Framed and Burning…
It was supposed to be a much-needed vacation in Miami, meant to snap Cat out of a persistent depression. But when her great uncle’s studio goes up in flames, killing his assistant, Cat must find out who’s really to blame.

In Bound to the Truth…
The dreamslippers don’t quite trust their client. Did Nina Howell really fall under the spell of a domineering, conservative talk show host—as her wife claims?

PLUS explore Amazing Grace’s back story in the bonus story found ONLY in this boxed set!

For readers who enjoy strong female leads, quirky, well-developed characters, and a dash of dating drama with their mystery. Fans of J.A. Jance, Mary Daheim, and Jayne Ann Krentz will love Cat and “Amazing” Grace!

My Review: Framed & Burning Book 2
Mysteries are tricky business. Mysteries in themselves are usually layers upon layers of truths, lies, and half-truths all woven together to tell one larger story. But we become so engrossed in the corner of the image that we cannot see the bigger picture.

Reading Framed and Burning, I was entranced from beginning. I’m a pretty observant person so I picked up on some things early on, kept a watch on them from the moment they were introduced. But there were several times I doubted my intuition when another layer was tacked on.

There are lots of genres where you can have only a few characters to move a story along, with background characters acting as blurry shadows filling space. But in mystery novels, There are a countless amount of people to keep track of.

We start this story off from the victim’s POV (3rd person), and then we move through the three (3) Dreamslippers POVs. With each passing chapter we learn more of each of their abilities, the glamorous and not so glamorous corners of the art world. We spy the insanity within, the chaos within each artist as he or she works at her craft inspired by tiny crumbs and paper pieces in lint or happy children on the other side of a fence, beckoning you to a simpler time.

The heart-wrenching stories that some of the characters want to keep hidden, buried deep in Del Rio, or lived again and again in nightmares replaying themselves in your failures.
We have three (3) main characters: Mitch, Cat, and Grace.

Mitch is the artist. Cat is the cynic. Grace is the eccentric.

Each character sees their dreamslipping ability as something different. Mitch could care less, Cat sees it as a curse that gets people killed, and Grace sees and uses it as a gift. Cat is the great-niece of Mitch, granddaughter to Grace. She is, of course, the youngest and least experienced using the dreamslipping and has had the worst experience with her gift, blaming it for the death of her childhood sweetheart. Mitch and Grace are siblings. They’ve each made their way in life, using their talents, natural and supernatural. And those talents have brought good and bad things to each of them.

Along with success we find jealousy, loathing, contempt….Mitch has the idea that there is plenty of room in the world for all art. But humans are inherently competitive and greedy. So they try to take down Mitch in his prime, but he wins out, becoming a coveted artist. Thus, begins the journey to find an accidental killer.

The story is woven perfectly to tell each person’s story in that person’s personality. We have the seriousness in Cat’s narratives, the eccentricity and grounding in Grace’s, and the disjointed, emotional feel of Mitch.

The nominations and awards this book has received were well-deserved.

Five stars!

BUY IT HERE!!

About the Author:

new-headshot-2016-lisa-brunetteLisa was born in Santa Rosa, California, but that was only home for a year. A so-called “military brat,” she lived in nine different houses and attended nine different schools by the time she was 14. Through all of the moves, her one constant was books. She read everything, from the entire Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden mystery series to her mother’s books by Daphne du Maurier and Taylor Caldwell. 

A widely published author, game writer, and journalist, Lisa has interviewed homeless women, the designer of the Batmobile, and a sex expert, to name just a few colorful characters. This experience, not to mention her own large, quirky family, led her to create some truly memorable characters in her Dreamslippers Series and other works, whether books or games.

Always a vivid dreamer, not to mention a wannabe psychic, Lisa feels perfectly at home slipping into suspects’ dreams, at least in her imagination. Her husband isn’t so sure she can’t pick up his dreams in real life, though.

With a hefty list of awards and publications to her name, Lisa now lives in a small town in Washington State, but who knows how long that will last…

Let’s Get Connected!
Twitter
Facebook
Her Site!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Advertisements

One thought on “Review: Framed & Burning: Dreamslippers Boxed Set

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s